The Port Authority of Santa Cruz de Tenerife is one of the 28 ports which make up the Spanish state-owned port system. It currently manages the ports of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Santa Cruz de La Palma, Los Cristianos, San Sebastian de La Gomera and La Estaca.

It operates, in accordance with the provisions contained in the consolidated text of the State-owned Ports and the Merchant Navy, approved by Royal Legislative Decree 2/2011 of 5th September under the general principle of functional autonomy and management, without prejudice to the powers attributed to the Spanish Ministry of Development, through the State-owned Ports Body, and those that correspond to the Autonomous Regions.


Its wide-ranging competences include carrying out, authorising and supervising, where necessary, sea and land operations for port traffic and port services; promoting industrial and commercial activities related to shipping and port traffic; optimising economic management and organising port service and port use areas. These functions shall be carried out under optimum conditions of efficiency, economy, productivity and safety.


In order to coordinate, standardise and bring together the activity of the province’s five ports, the Port Authority of Santa Cruz de Tenerife supervises and ensures the correct availability and use of the elements involved in the upkeep and maintenance of its ports’ facilities, adapting them to comply with current safety measures, and equipping them with the latest shipping and port infrastructure technology.


Copyright © 2009 Puertos de Tenerife

log ministero