Governing Bodies and Advisors

The Port Authority of Santa Cruz de Tenerife is one of the 28 members of the state-owned Spanish port system and currently manages the ports of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Santa Cruz de La Palma, Los Cristianos, San Sebastián de La Gomera and La Estaca.

The Port Authority carries out its duties in accordance with the provisions contained in the Revised Text of the State Ports and the Merchant Marine Act approved by the Royal Legislative Decree 2/2011, of 5 September, under the general principle of functional and management autonomy with no detriment to powers vested in the Ministry of Public Works, through the government agency Puertos del Estado, and those corresponding to the autonomous communities.

Under the premise of executing them in optimal conditions of efficiency, economy, productivity and safety, its wide powers include from the realisation, authorisation and control of, where applicable, maritime and land operations related to port traffic and port services, to the promotion of industrial and commercial activities associated with maritime or port traffic, as well as optimising economic management and management of the port’s service area and port uses.

With the implicit purpose of merging, homogenising and grouping the activity of the province’s five ports, the Port Authority of Santa Cruz de Tenerife coordinates and ensures the proper organisation and use of all elements involved in the preservation and maintenance of its port facilities, adapting them not only to the existing security measures, but also to the most modern technologies for maritime traffic and port infrastructure.